Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

In which we spend much money and domesticate.

10:09 am - October 18, 2004
In which we spend much money and domesticate.
Muster up some pride for me and the fam - we�re still not eating in the living room, Boy still cleans his room before bed each night, and Simon and I have stayed on top of the dishes and litterbox. Hell, we even did laundry and moved a bunch of stuff this weekend.
Boy has put a lot of stock in this move too- he�s got his own set of Teddy-bear plans (See last entry). When Simon and I were planning the week�s meals, Boy asked if we were ever going to have cereal for dinner Downstairs. I said probly sometimes we would. He said he hates that- he wants at least one decent meal a day. I said I�d try.
How much change is possible? Can we turn into our dream family in the course of a move to a new place? I�ll keep you informed.
We couldn�t do the table this weekend- too rainy and cold. I want to sand it and paint checkerboards and maybe little cherries on it. Is that too cheesy? I think cherries would be super cute, but maybe it�s like getting a tattoo of your boyfriends�s name- you�ll be sorry later.
We made real progress upstairs this weekend. There�s still my dresser and some other furniture, but most of the Stuff left to move is closet stuff. Or obnoxiously heavy furniture. We�ve turned into ants, carrying loads from up to down then doing it again.
There�s no electricity or heat on upstairs. When you go in it feels haunted. It doesn�t smell right. It�s not half as noisy as it should be. I�ve lived there for six years, and now I�m abandoning it. I want to hang on to it somehow, comfort it and say sorry.
Saturday we moved Boy�s bed and his bookshelf- his room now has all its furniture. Loon gave him a new mattress, so we tucked the old one under the bed like a trundle bed for when company comes. I got him some brand new sheets that match all his other stuff. That doesn�t sound like much, but I don�t remember ever buying new sheets before. It feels extravagant. It also feels good. Boy�s room all matches and has good furniture. You walk in and know that everything in there is there on purpose, as opposed to being there because that�s all I could find on the curb.
We did a lot of shopping this weekend. We went to Target and spent enough money to be scary, but we got a shower curtain and some wash cloths and a little cabinet thingy for the bathroom. I looked all over for a butter dish, but no luck. We got some keys made and bought sheets and looked at curtains and lamps at Walmart.
ASIDE:
Does anyone else feel guilty when they shop at Walmart? If you don�t, go to your local library and check out the Frontline episode on the subject. If you can rationalize your purchases after that, please share your sanity with me�.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATRONAGE:
Then Simon went to the Home Depot and got a fancy thermostat. Ooooo is it nice. This thingy turns the heat on a half hour before we wake up, so when I got out of bed this morning everything was toasty. And because it keeps the heat down when no one�s there we can afford to turn it up more when we are there, meaning I am warm. Ahhhhhhh.
Curtains are expensive. We have sheets over the windows in the bedrooms, but when Boy prances into the living room swinging his wiener the neighbors get the full monty. We pointed this out to his naked ass yesterday, and were amused by the antics that followed. Anyway, we�ve been looking at new curtains and swearing at stickers all weekend. We looked at material for to make some with, but that ain�t cheap either. I�m going to hit the Value Village tonight and see what I can dig up.
I got frustrated a little this weekend. My body is doing better than ever, but it�s still got issues. I don�t want to have issues. I want to go go go all day without being hampered by my stupid body. I am to the point that I can cruise along all day at a constant low level of effort, but if I have to exert myself at all, say, like to move a bookshelf downstairs, I blow it and have to wait a while to work up some energy again.
Friday I had forgotten to eat a snack on my 3:00 break, then I had gone and pitched a lot of stuff into the dumpster at 4:00, then by the time I got home I felt like dying. Death on a stick. Really bad. We made dinner, and within the hour I felt fine. Peachy. Dandy. I have my doubts sometimes that any of this is related to my blood sugar, then something like this happens. Simon made me promise to eat a snack after work if I forget one at 3. It affects everybody when I feel that bad. Honestly though, I keep thinking that it�s not that big a deal, and I should be fine, and I�ll eat later. It doesn�t seem right that eating affects me that much. Of course, on the other hand, it is a simple fix.
Wow. That was a long entry, but it�s all done now. Go eat, drink and be merry.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next