Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

In which our belongings wash ashore.

10:16 am - October 22, 2004
In which our belongings wash ashore.
I found my wallet (of course). I went back to the bank and started my first ever savings account. We�ve had a few windfalls over the past few months. I was proud in the first place that we didn�t already spend them all up-I�m even prouder now that they�re officially saved.
Funny, but having some money saved makes me feel like pinching every little penny, whereas when I�m broke I find myself wanting to buy everything. Ok, maybe it�s not so weird, maybe I�m looking for the word �Ironic�.
�Ironic� is one of those words I�m not sure I have a handle on. Lots of people say �Sarcastic� when they mean �Sardonic� because they don�t know what the one means and haven�t heard of the other. Sarcastic implies an insult. Sardonic doesn�t. If you go into your office and find a large poo on your desk and then you say �Nice�, that, my friends, is sardonic. Whereas, If you find your coworker squatting above it and you say �Nice. That�s the best work you�ve ever put on my desk.�, that is sarcastic. Or at least, this is how I understand it. The dictionary I have leaves some room for interpretation.
Maybe there�s a cousin of �Ironic� that�s just what I�m looking for�
So. We�re still moving stuff down, bit by bit, from the top of our little ant hill down into the bowels. I�m going to take Friday off this week to finish some of that. I would very much like to be done moving stuff by Fri night, then cleaning and painting Sat and Sun. It does drag on so.
The house downstairs is in a dramatic state of flux. There are isolated pockets of order floating above the general mass of homeless things. Boy�s room is still clean- he�s proud to have things so tidy in there. He hasn�t lost his homework in three weeks! The bathroom is pretty clean, but then one doesn�t go through the bathroom when moving, so the general detritus that�s wafting everywhere else doesn�t settle here. Our bedroom is almost in a state of panic. All the laundry is caught up, but I haven�t moved my dresser down, so all my clothes are in piles. The dining room (poor thing) gets the most traffic, and everything washes up in there at one time or another.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next