Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

obla dee

1:36 pm - Tuesday, Jan. 06, 2004
obla dee
We want,nay-need,double nay-NEED to move into a bigger place. We have to choose whether to try to buy a house or rent or move into a coop. Coops are cool and cheap, but the buy-in cost is outrageous and the equity you accrue is minimal. Houses with yards are super cool, but the cost around here is more than outrageous. Used a search engine to look at listing, get this- I accidentally listed 1,500,000 as my maximum price, and out of 756 possible listings only 350ish were less than that. I am still having trouble understanding that this means roughly half the houses around here go for more than a million and a half.

That is fucked up.

Working where I work has reached the point of being old-hat. It's a little easier to get out of bed because it's just habit to get up early. I find myself wishing I were taking classes and getting on with what my Real job should be, (that's teaching) but at this point I don't even know where to start. Over the holidays we spent time with a friend who teaches, and I found myself being so jealous of the fact she teaches. I do really really understand that teaching is an emotionally grimy job, and it's hard, and it's not glamorous, but it's my fave. I miss kids. I miss doing a job that matters. Sigh.

There has been some excitement around the place- one owner told the other owner to leave, so I am minus one boss. They were both good bosses(are good bosses?) so I'm still in a happy job. The very very sad thing is that the boss who left is the one that brought the dog to work everyday. I sure do miss that dog. Anyway, greedy cannibals that us office rats are, me and my superior office gal have designs on his old office already... If she gets that one then we can put all her stuff in there and she'll have some personal space that she really wants, and I'll get to arrainge things on the front desk how I want them. Does this make us bad people? We miss his dog and covet his office, but we're really not too worried about him....

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next