Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

And a Phttttpht to you too

2:24 pm - Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2005
And a Phttttpht to you too
Simon and I don�t do Valentines. We figure that sort of thing should be celebrated on your anniversary in your own way and time, not on the same day as everyone else just because Hallmark says you should.
That means today is the same old same old. I�m spending the day stuffing pregnancy tests into little boxes, then I will shuffle some papers. I don�t really mind the stuffing gig- it means I don�t have to answer the phone and I get to listen to whatever radio station I feel like listening to. That said, there are many other things I�d rather be doing. Work is what I have to do between breaks. Makes me feel a little slutty somehow.
Simon gave me hickeys. Both sides of my neck. Very visible. He thought they�d be gone by today � HA! He does this on Saturday before we go to dinner with his family, to which I wear a turtleneck. Sunday morning I�ve forgotten all about it. That�s when my landlord shows up with her son, and I jam my hair into a pony tail so I don�t seem quite the slob that I feel like. Then we go upstairs and say howdy to her husband, her sister, her dad, then back downstairs, and this, This is when Simon tells me my hickeys are showing.
Good grief, Charley Brown.
Not that it�s a big deal, but it kinda felt like it. And it seems that every Every EVERY time Hayrick and AM come over I am finding new ways to be mortified. Would that I knew what Karmic mistake provoked this string of humilities.
Aside:
Did you know that the word �Hickey� is in the Microsoft dictionary?
Who�da thunk?
Did I mention we started Boy�s fish tank anew? Long finned Zebra Danios. They�re supposed to be the thing to start a tank with, because they can handle the ammonia until the bacteria settle in and clean things up. So far so good. I did some reading up on the internet, and it would appear we have two boys and a girl. They�re very pretty. They�re also very hyper compared to the angel fish. If you look really closely they have tiny little whiskers. I�m thinking we need a few more, but I suppose if Boy wants angel fish we have to save room. If it were me I�d fill the tank up with little schooling fish like that. I really should get me own tank.
We got Boy some comic books for his bday. They had a dollar rack, so I got $40 worth of comics for $10. Whoo Hoo!
When I went to pay for them the lady at the register told me the story of her engagement. I think she did so because it can be a lonely job when you�re behind a counter all day. Also, I think it�s because I stood still long enough and was friendly. I�ve been trying to be friendly to everyone, because the Dalai Lama says it leads to happiness, but I digress. Apparently her boyfriend asked his coworker who told him he should let her pick out three engagement rings she liked, so that when he chose one it would still sorta be a surprise but she would get one she liked. All this to say she knew he was going to propose. So on Christmas eve he puts the ring on her pillow. She�s all gaga, and when she turns around he�s on one knee, so she�s crying and puttng the ring on and all that jazz. Then they go to Midnight Mass. After Mass he asks for the ring back. She�s near to pissed, cause this is really messing with her head, but it turns out he wanted to propose to her a second time in front of the church.
I give him high marks for Thoroughness and Romantic Gestures, but he loses points on Smoothness.
I wanted to tell her my story. It kinda seemed the right response, but mine involves nudity and loses a lot in the telling. (Click here to refresh your memory�)

Last night I combed Boy�s hair for him and blow dried it. I hadn�t been that close to his head in a while. His skin is starting to change- next comes armpit stink and hairiness and zits. Sigh. He�s not 10 till next month. I don�t want him to grow up.
Sigh.
Each day drags on and on until you think the damn thing�s gonna pop, but then you look over your shoulder and your life is just zipping past. I swear he was just starting kindergarten.
Sigh.
That�s enough for today- I�m going to go pull myself through my last few hours of box stuffing.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next