Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

buddhism and zombies

1:31 pm - Monday, Jul. 28, 2003
buddhism and zombies
Simon and I are exploring Buddhism. We�ve signed up for a class on meditation,been to two classes now- they�re good. We start with some stretching, then a little sittin�, then Haju talks a little and then we do some more sittin�. Maybe a little more talking. Five times a week we�re supposed to practice the sitting, and five times a week we�re supposed to spend five minutes doing manual labor in a mindful way. A lot of this mindfulness stuff I�ve known how to do for a long time. Doing it isn�t hard, but they�d like us to do the same chore all five times, and they suggest the more consistency the better. This I am not so good at. I�m horrible at it. I�ve never been able to take The Pill because I forget it half the time. Doing the same thing two days in a row is hard- never mind doing it at the same time.

Last night at class we go upstairs to stretch, right, and there�s this girl who�s obviously taken yoga for a while, because she�s flexible enough to pick her nose with her toes. She chooses to ignore the instruction to go upstairs and lay down. She�s standing in the Tree pose. Really, this is fine. I�m not knocking someone for doing things their way. All through the class I�m waffling between spiteful glee when her panties show and horror that I seem to be irked by her. At the end, when we get up, she lays on her back and folds in half so her feet are over her head. Then she rocks until she has the momentum to flip over. Ok, so, I was disgusted. And then I was disgusted that I had even devoted the thought-time to being disgusted. Later I was talking to Simon about this, and I said �What do you think about that girl�, and he knew which one without any identification. He said he thought she wore a revealing top, very tight pants and was exceptionally limber. Well, I forgot about the girl and had to giggle at the man who would tell his wife that he noticed such things.

At the end of class the priest-in-training said he hoped we would take the meditation with us. Simon and I went to go see 28 Days. We decided that probly wasn�t what he meant, but we enjoyed ourselves. It�s always fun to go to a movie with Simon. We talk through the commercials at the beginning. He hates the fact that you have to sit through commercials to see a movie. Then there�s the movie- It�s so nice to have someone to snuggle with during a movie. I tend to jump a lot. He doesn�t mind. This movie is a horror flick, so I jumped lots.

If you like that sort of thing, this is a good one. It�s a cross between artsy and scary - like Run Lola Run meets Night of the Living Dead. Do not see this if you don�t like nasty bloody scenes. Actually you might want to wait till it comes out on video anyway, because the jerks keep adding alternate endings. We always wait till the end of the credits to leave, and had there been an alternate ending we would have seen it, but no- they're waiting a few weeks before that feature is added. A third version will be added on the dvd. We feel ripped off.

I had been thinking we should stop by and ask Loon to go, but then I thought she wouldn�t like it. I was right. Since I didn�t have her to pick on I picked on Simon. See, the bathrooms are by the exit. We were the only ones around, so I followed him in and then made a noise like the bad guys in the movie made. Hee hee. He jumped. Hee hee. But then he reminded me of the �no boos in the bathroom� rule and I felt very sorry- I hadn�t thought of that, it not being our bathroom and all. Of course, then I was scared to come out the bathroom for fear of reprisal. Other than those reservations, I felt justified- the other day when Predator was on tv I was staring at the screen, looking for the alien, and he just said booga and bout made me hit the ceiling.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next