Knickers on the Line

You're not in Kansas anymore. Write me!! I knew you were the underwear sniffing type.  Don't worry, I won't tell. The latest thang. Really, really bad jokes. My profile.

8 weeks & counting

11:08 am - Saturday, Dec. 24, 2005
8 weeks & counting
We have roughly 8 weeks to go. That's 8 weeks to pack up the house. 8 weeks for my boobs to swell to even mightier proportions. 8 weeks to sleep in on weekends. 8 weeks to meet my daughter's every need just by eating and breathing.
I imagine myself in labor. I really do think it will be easier this time because I've already done this once- by which I mean both mentally easier, because I know what to expect, and physically easier, because Boy already stretched things out. Labor doesn't scare me much.
Post partum scares me a little. You feed the baby (somewhere around 20 minutes), you change the baby (less than 5, but you have to be awake for this part), you go back to sleep (20 minutes max), you sleep fitfully through the little baby noises and wake up to repeat in an hour. Very little actual sleep happens in the first week. I don't do well without sleep. And it's not like I can be removed from the equation much, because in order to establish a good milk supply you really do have to nurse a lot, and I'm the one with the milk.
It's just that first week though. After that the little shit sleeps for more than an hour at a time because they get the hang of eating. And somewhere in that first couple of months they quit pooping everytime they eat, which means that you can, in fact, skip a diaper change now and then during the night. Yay.
I'm trying to warm up to New York. I've found a good music program at the local Y that will be great for Boy. There is a brewry in town. Can't find a food co-op or a theater that shows independant films, but I haven't given up hope. And everytown everywhere has a farmer's market, right? We'll just have to find them, that's all.
Hope the local La Leche is full of hippy chicks and not Christian freaks. Nothing against Christian freaks, mind you, it's just I'd like an easy way to meet similar minded people.

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

previous - next